South Dakota has no recent changes to their employment or labor laws on the state level aside from the yearly minimum wage increase. Annually, on New Year’s Day, the minimum wage increases at the same rate as the cost of living as measured by the Consumer Price Index.
Effective January 1, 2019, the minimum wage in South Dakota will be $9.10 per hour. Tipped worker’s will receive $4.55 per hour (employer’s must make up the difference if a tipped employee’s wages plus their tips don’t add up to the state minimum wage).
South Dakota only requires two workplace postings: An Unemployment posting released by the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation’s Division of Unemployment Insurance and a “Safety on the Job” posting.
The unemployment posting is pretty no frills and informs employees that they are covered by the South Dakota Unemployment Insurance Law. If they become unemployed or their working hours are reduced to less than full time then they may be eligible for benefits provided:
- They are able to work,
- They are available for full-time work, and
- They meet certain eligibility requirements.
There is no format for the “Safety on the Job” posting. The Workers’ compensation law requires the posting of this information encouraging safety and the DLR website itself offers various options.
Various federal agencies also require employers to post various employee notices so even though you’ve covered the South Dakota state requirements, make sure you’re also squared away with your federal compliance requirements.